NewsLocal News / May 10, 2014

Pagenaud Wins Inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis


Simon Pagenaud had just enough fuel left to make history, winning the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis Saturday.

Pagenaud, who started fourth, held off Ryan Hunter-Reay by .8906 of a second for his third career Verizon IndyCar Series victory and a charging Helio Castroneves by 1.8244 seconds.

Like Pagenaud, Hunter-Reay's car was starved for fuel after completing 28 laps. Castroneves, who started 10th, had plenty of fuel and was closing in the final laps, but couldn't get around Hunter-Reay.

Oriol Servia was leading with five laps to go but had to pit before he ran out of fuel. That handed the lead to Pagenaud, who also was at risk of running short.

The start was marred by a massive crash when polesitter Sebastian Saavedra stalled and was hit hard in the rear by the cars of Carlos Munoz and Mikhail Aleshin.

Photos by Doug Jaggers, WFYI



Related News

Brickyard 400 Moving To September In 2018
Will Power Cruises To IndyCar Grand Prix Win
Mecum Spring Classic Auto Auction Rolls Into Indy