September 26, 2019

12 Indiana Schools Receive Blue Ribbon Honors From U.S. Department of Education

U.S. Department of Education via YouTube

U.S. Department of Education via YouTube

The U.S. Department of Education announced Thursday that 12 Indiana schools, including five in Central Indiana, have received National Blue Ribbon School honors for 2019. 

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups. All of the Indiana schools were recognized in the Exemplary High Performing Schools category, for being among the state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Indiana's 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools are:

  • Brownsburg West Middle School, Brownsburg Community School Corporation
  • Ferdinand Elementary School Southeast, Dubois County School Corporation
  • Holland Elementary School Southwest, Dubois County School Corporation
  • Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Archdiocese of Indianapolis School District
  • Lincoln Trail Elementary School, North Spencer County School Corporation
  • Loge Elementary School, Warrick County School Corporation
  • Mohawk Trails Elementary School, Carmel Clay School District
  • Saint Joseph Grade School, Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend School District
  • Saint Maria Goretti School Diocese, of Lafayette-in-Indiana School District
  • Saint Thomas Aquinas School, Archdiocese of Indianapolis School District
  • Unionville Elementary School, Monroe County Community School Corporation
  • Van Buren Elementary School, Plainfield Community School Corporation

“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “As a National Blue Ribbon School, your school demonstrates what is possible when committed educators hold all students and staff to high standards and create vibrant, innovative cultures of teaching and learning.”

On Nov. 14 and 15, DeVos and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50 non-public school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.


Related News

The winners in Marion County’s 10 school board elections
This Indiana 4th grade teacher won a $25,000 national educator award
Hope Hampton wins only contested IPS school board race