NewsPublic Affairs / November 3, 2015

Democrats Retain Slim Majority On Council

Democrats Retain Slim Majority On Council

INDIANAPOLIS – It came down to the final district, but Marion County Democrats retained their one seat majority on the City-County Council.

The wins on the council also mark the first time since 2011 one party has controlled the Indianapolis mayor’s office and the council majority.

Councilor Joe Simpson, D – District 7, was among the winners Tuesday night. He hopes the election will bring about a new chapter to Indianapolis.

“People want change,” Simpson said. “They want change in their neighborhoods. I think it’ll allow us as councilors to work with the mayor to get some of these initiatives done.”

Democrats had held slim majority the past four years and many feared redistricting and the elimination of the council’s four at-large seats – all held by Democrats – would tip the balance of power back across the aisle.

But the results proved otherwise.

Republican Mike McQuillen, the council’s current minority leader, was able to win re-election in the new District 4.

But his excitement was tempered by the results of the last district race, which saw Democrat Jared Evans defeat Republican incumbent Robert Lutz in District 22. That race broke the 12-12 tie and gave Democrats control of the council.

“It is disappointing,” McQuillen said. “But the voters of Marion County have spoken and enough districts do want to see a democratic majority on the council and we’re going to work with them in that future.”

The newly elected councilors will take their posts in January.

At WFYI, our goal is to cover stories that matter to you. Our reporting is rooted in facts. It considers all perspectives and is available to everyone. We don't have paywalls, but we do need support. So if unbiased, trusted journalism is important to you, please join us. Donate now.



Related News

Logansport Opposes Proposal For Zinc Oxide Plant In Cass County
Indiana On Pace To Deplete Jobless Benefits In September
Labor Leaders Rally For HEROES Act Outside Offices Of Senators Braun, Young