November 9, 2016

Holcomb Begins Transition, Puts Team Together

Original story from   IPBS-RJC

Article origination IPBS-RJC
Governor-elect Eric Holcomb got right to work the day after election day, announcing his transition team. - Brandon Smith/IPBS

Governor-elect Eric Holcomb got right to work the day after election day, announcing his transition team.

Brandon Smith/IPBS

Governor-elect Eric Holcomb got right to work the day after election day, announcing his transition team.

The co-chairs of Holcomb’s transition team – Kyle Hupfer and Earl Goode – are both alums of the Mitch Daniels administration, as Holcomb is. That led many to wonder how much of a Daniels’ flavor Holcomb’s administration will have. Holcomb says he’s obviously worked closely with Daniels’ people over the last 12 years.

“And over the course of the last 106 days out on the trail, I’ve met a lot of new faces and a lot of energy and intellect that we intend to incorporate in this new administration as well,” Holcomb says.

Holcomb adds he looks forward to working with Democrats in the legislature and seeking their input.

House Minority Leader Scott Pelath echoes those thoughts and says he thinks Holcomb has a tough job.

“He has work to do in mending factions of his own party that may not have been of his making but are probably existing there,” Pelath says.

Holcomb says he’ll soon begin evaluating state agencies, deciding which, if any, current agency heads will be invited to stay on.

Holcomb’s Transition Team:

Earl Goode, co-chair
Goode served as chief of staff to Governor Mitch Daniels.

Kyle Hupfer, co-chair 
Hupfer was Governor Mitch Daniels’ Indiana Department of Natural Resources director, as well as chair of the Indiana State Fair Commission.

Allison Barber
Barber is chancellor of WGU Indiana.

Brian Bauer
Bauer is the CEO of the Lutheran Health Network, which serves Indiana, Ohio and Michigan.

Brian Burdick
Burdick is managing partner of the Indianapolis office of Barnes and Thornburg, the state’s largest law firm.

Anne Hathaway
Former chief of staff at the Republican National Committee, Hathaway is president of Hathaway Strategies, a public relations and management company.

Rebecca Holwerda
Holwerda is a regional director for outgoing U.S. Senator Dan Coats.

Jeff Knight
Knight is executive vice president and chief legal counsel for Old National Bank, which is headquartered in Evansville.

Blair Milo
Milo is a two-term mayor of La Porte and serves in the Naval Reserve.

Jim Morris
Morris is vice chair of Pacers Sports and Entertainment and former utility company CEO

Jamey Noel
Noel is Clark County sheriff and former Indiana State Police officer.

Ed Simcox
Simcox served as Indiana Secretary of State and worked for, among other, Governor Ed Whitcomb and U.S. Senators Richard Lugar and Dan Coats.

Becky Skillman
Skillman served as lieutenant governor under Mitch Daniels following 12 years in the state senate.

Jamal Smith
Smith is the athletic director for Indianapolis Public Schools and former executive director of the Indiana Civil Rights Commission.

Susana Suarez
Suarez is town council president in Zionsville. Her previous experience includes service to the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the Peace Corps.

Rudy Yakym
Yakym is senior vice president at real estate firm Bradley Company.

Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.


Related News

Lebanon Mayor: Tippecanoe County leaders should 'take a breath'
HVAF: Community support required to address veteran housing insecurity, mental health
Madison County 2023 Election Results