February 12, 2019

Governor Announces Teacher Pay Commission Members

Article origination IPBS-RJC
Governor Announces Teacher Pay Commission Members

Governor Announces Teacher Pay Commission Members

A new state task force will study how Indiana can make teacher pay competitive with surrounding states. Gov. Eric Holcomb announced members for his Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission Tuesday.

The group will determine what competitive teacher pay should look like for Indiana, and make policy recommendations to the governor and lawmakers on how to achieve competitive compensation ahead of the 2021 legislative session.

A handful of business executives have been named to the commission, as well as a representative from Ivy Tech Community College.

According to a press release, an advisory council will work with commission members to offer “further knowledge and expertise,” and includes one teacher and a school superintendent.

READ MORE: Lawmakers: We Need More Data To Address Teacher Pay

Holcomb announced the creation of the commission in his state of the state address in January, as he also unveiled plans to use $140 million from the state’s surplus over the next two years to pay off teacher pensions, with the goal that schools will pass along those savings to teachers’ pay.

The commission will gather for an initial meeting in the near future.

Commission and advisory council members:

  • Commission Chairman Michael L. Smith (Indianapolis), former chairman, president and CEO of Mayflower Group and former executive vice president and CFO of Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield
  • Jená Bellezza (Gary), COO of Indiana Parenting Institute
  • Tom Easterday (Zionsville), former senior executive vice president, secretary & chief legal officer for Subaru of Indiana Automotive
  • Marianne Glick (Indianapolis), chair of the Eugene & Marilyn Glick Family Foundation and board member of the Gene B. Glick Company
  • Bob Jones (Evansville), chairman and CEO of Old National Bancorp
  • Katie Jenner (Madison), vice president of K-12 initiatives and statewide partnerships at Ivy Tech
  • Nancy Jordan (Fort Wayne), senior vice president of Lincoln Financial Group

Advisory Council Members

  • Melissa Ambre (Noblesville), director of the Office of School Finance for the Indiana Department of Education
  • Lee Ann Kwiatkowski (Greenwood), senior education advisor to Gov. Holcomb
  • Emily Holt (Arcadia), math teacher at Westfield High School
  • Dan Holub (Indianapolis), executive director of the Indiana State Teachers Association
  • Denise Seger (Granger), chief human resource officer for Concord Community Schools in Elkhart
  • David Smith (Evansville), superintendent of Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation
Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.



Related News

Referendum Transparency, Teacher Training: A Look At Some Of Indiana's New Education Laws
Statewide Career And Technical Education Competition Adapts To COVID-19 Reality
IU, Bloomington Renaming Road Named After Eugenics Backer