December 6, 2021

Indiana treasurer race shaping up on GOP side

Article origination Indiana Public Media
No Democrat has won the race for Indiana State Treasurer since 1974.  - Brandon Smith/IPB News

No Democrat has won the race for Indiana State Treasurer since 1974.

Brandon Smith/IPB News

Listen to the broadcast version of this story.

The Republican side of the race for Indiana State Treasurer is starting to take shape.

The field of five candidates was recently reduced to four.

Former Trump administration official Suzie Jaworowski recently announced that, instead of running for State Treasurer, she will instead seek to become a state legislator. She has filed to run in House District 32, which is a new distict created in central Indiana without an incumbent.

That leaves four GOP candidates for treasurer – Morgan County Republican Party leader Daniel Elliott, former George W. Bush administration spokesperson Pete Seat, Fort Wayne City Clerk Lana Keesling and Boone County Council President Elise Nieshalla.

Candidates for treasurer first vie for their party’s nomination at the state party conventions next year. Then, the nominees from each party will face off before Hoosier voters in the fall 2022 election.

Current Indiana State Treasurer Kelly Mitchell, a Republican, is term-limited from running again.

Contact reporter Brandon at or follow him on Twitter at @brandonjsmith5.

Copyright 2021 Indiana Public Media. To see more, visit Indiana Public Media.


Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.


Related News

Congress passes spending stopgap, averting a shutdown hours before midnight deadline
Indiana to change infant formula brand for WIC recipients in October
The Farm Bill expires tomorrow, here's what that means