August 24, 2018

10 Candidates Make Ballot For Indianapolis School Board Election

Indianapolis Public Schools - WFYI News

Indianapolis Public Schools


Ten candidates will be on the November ballot for three open seats on the Indianapolis Public Schools Board.

Incumbent board members Dorene Rodríguez Hoops, District 5, and Mary Ann Sullivan, At-Large, will seek reelection.

Four candidates will vie for the District 3 seat. The current board member, Kelley Bentley, is not seeking re-election.

Today was the deadline for Marion County school board candidates to file and be approved by the county election board.

The candidates are: 


  • Mary A Sullivan 
  • Susan J Collins
  • Joanna Elizabeth Krumel
  • Mary Hampo-Stanley

District 3

  • Evan S Hawkins
  • Michele Lorbieski
  • Sherry Lynne Shelton
  • Ellis Stephen Noto

District 5

  • Dorene Rodríguez Hoops
  • Taria L Slack
Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.



Related News

Irvington community hopes to raise pedestrian safety issues with playground memorial
Perry Schools win referendum, voters again reject Franklin Township Schools’ tax levy
Report finds Black Hoosiers lack access to careers in math and science fields