July 26, 2018

Marion County Board Approves 6 More Early Voting Sites

Marion County Board Approves 6 More Early Voting Sites

The Marion County Election Board has approved six additional early voting sites for this year's General Election.

The bipartisan board unanimously approved the six sites across Indiana's most populous county on Wednesday two weeks after U.S. District Judge Sarah Evans Barker ruled the panel must approve at least five early voting sites. She issued an injunction in April ending what critics including watchdog group Common Cause Indiana and the NAACP called an effort to suppress voting in the Democratic-leaning county that includes Indianapolis.

Since 2009, early voting in Marion County had been available only at the county clerk's office in downtown Indianapolis.

The six new sites will operate from Friday, Oct. 26, through Sunday, Nov. 4, from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. on weekdays and 10 a.m.-5 p.m. on weekends.

  • Washington Township Government Center, 5302 N. Keystone Ave.
  • Lawrence Education & Community Center, 6501 Sunnyside Road
  • Perry Township Government Center, 4925 Shelby St.
  • Franklin Township Annex Learning Center, 6019 S. Franklin Road
  • Eugene & Marilyn Glick Technology Center, 2620 N. Meridian St.
  • International Marketplace Coalition, 3685 Commercial Drive

Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.


Related News

State Sen. Jack Sandlin remembered as dedicated public servant
'Kokomo stand ready': UAW expands strikes to more non-Indiana GM, Stellantis facilities
Buttigieg touts more than $4 billion planned for Indiana infrastructure investment