NewsLocal News / May 12, 2018

Power Notches Third IndyCar Grand Prix Win

Will Power has won all three of his IndyCar Gran Prix after starting on the pole position.Indianapolis Motor Speedway, IndyCar Grand Prix, IndyCar, Racing, Will Power2018-05-12T00:00:00-04:00
Power Notches Third IndyCar Grand Prix Win

Will Power celebrates with champagne in victory lane after winning the IndyCar Grand Prix on Saturday, May 12 ,2018.

Doug Jaggers/WFYI

Will Power won the IndyCar Grand Prix Saturday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. It was the second straight year he's won the race and third time overall -- each victory coming after starting in the pole position.

Power's trip to victory lane also marked Indy car win No. 200 for team owner Roger Penske, nearly double that of any other team.

Seven different drivers exchanged the lead during the race, but Power was out in front for 56 of the 85 laps. Scott Dixon finished second, and rookie Robert Wickens finished third. 

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway will be converted from the road course to the oval configuration in time for the start of practice for the Indianapolis 500 on Tuesday. Qualifications will be May 19-20. And the race will be May 27.



Related News

Carmel Synagogue Vandal Sentenced To 3 Years In Prison
Small Plane Crash Leaves Two Dead In Hancock County
Tom Hanks, Elizabeth Dole Honor Veteran Caregivers