October 19, 2016

State Awards $16 Million For School Improvement

Article origination IPBS-RJC
State Superintendent Glenda Ritz. - Rachel Morello/StateImpact Indiana

State Superintendent Glenda Ritz.

Rachel Morello/StateImpact Indiana
Fourteen Indiana schools will receive a total of $16 million to raise student achievement.
Indiana Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz awarded the grants Wednesday, to the schools, which all have “D” or “F” grades in the state’s school rating system.

“As I travel the state, I see school leaders and educators working every day to improve instruction and outcomes for Hoosier students,” said Ritz, in a statement. “That is why I am pleased to award more than $16 million in School Improvement Grants today to support this important effort.”

School improvement grants are given to schools who say they need more funds to raise measures student achievement, often test scores. Schools receive funds over five years.

Of the 14 schools, Lena Dunn Elementary will implement an early learning model, while the other 13 will implement models to transform their schools.

Edgewood Elementary, in Michigan City, will hire another teacher and consult with school reform agency SchoolRise.

“SchoolRise will come in and help us see where our gaps are,” says Principal Peggy Thomas. The outside agency will also help train teachers and offer additional professional development opportunities.

The D-rated Edgewood will receive $638,884.75, over five years.

Edgewood also plans to buy tablets for every student. These tablets will be used to provide culturally-appropriate readings, says Thomas.

“It’s hard to get enough books, but now we’ll be able to download books,” Thomas says. “And kids will be able to see themselves when they’re reading."

A list of the schools who received five year School Improvement Grants can be found below:




Bon Air Middle School

Kokomo Community Schools


Cedar Hall Community

Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation


Edgewood Elementary

Michigan City Area Schools


Elwood Intermediate

Elwood Community School Corporation


George H. Fisher School #93

Indianapolis Public Schools


Highland Middle School

Anderson Community Schools


Lena Dunn Elementary

Washington Community Schools


Madison Primary

South Bend Community School Corporation


Maple Crest Middle

Kokomo Community Schools


Mary Beck Elementary

Elkhart Community Schools


Pettit Park Elementary

Kokomo Community Schools


Pierre Moran Middle

Elkhart Community Schools


River Valley Middle School

Greater Clark County Schools


Sunny Heights Elementary

MSD of Warren Township



Support independent journalism today. You rely on WFYI to stay informed, and we depend on you to make our work possible. Donate to power our nonprofit reporting today. Give now.


Related News

How could Indiana college admissions be impacted by the Supreme Court affirmative action decision?
Queer teens need mental health support, Indiana high schooler tells Jill Biden
Indianapolis program will hire parents as reading tutors