July 31, 2023

Past WFYI President & CEO Lloyd Wright to be inducted into Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations Hall of Fame

Inaugural Inductee Group Includes Four Public Media Leaders

Former WFYI President and CEO Lloyd Wright will be inducted into the Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations (IPBS) Hall of Fame on August 2, 2023, as one of four hall of fame inductees. IPBS is a collective of NPR and PBS stations throughout Indiana that serve as a trusted and free resource for news, educational programming and entertainment. 

Members of the hall of fame are recognized for their meaningful contributions to public media in Indiana. Inductees have shown excellence in their service to their communities. This will be the first hall of fame ceremony. 

“We are so pleased to be honoring four very special individuals in this way,” said Nichole Carie, IPBS Board President and General Manager of Vincennes University Broadcasting, in a press release. “They epitomize excellence in our industry and will forever have the distinction of being members of the first class inducted into the IPBS Hall of Fame.” 

Wright became WFYI’s general manager in 1989. He retired in 2019 as the president and CEO of the station. During his time as station leader, WFYI received more than 120 regional Emmy awards and adopted digital broadcasting for television and radio. Under his leadership, the station also relocated to its current facility and successfully completed a $20 million capital campaign.

In 2018, Lloyd Wright was called “simply one of Indiana’s finest, ever,” by Governor Eric Holcomb. Wright has been recognized with Emmy Awards for Technical Achievement and as a four-time Station of Excellence, plus two Sagamore of the Wabash honors, recognizing distinguished service to the state of Indiana. In 2013, Wright was inducted into the Indiana Broadcasters Association Pioneers Hall of Fame and served multiple terms on the Board of Directors for PBS, Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations, the Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee and The Economic Club of Indiana.

The other three inductees this year are Perry Metz, Joe Misiewicz and Roger Rhodes. 

Perry Metz served as Executive Director of Indiana University Radio and Television Services from 2003 to 2019 and was General Manager of WFIU/WTIU during that time. He also held a number of administrative posts within the university.

Misiewicz worked with Ball State University for 22 years and helped to create the College of Communication, Information and Media. He was the general manager of the WIPB-TV and WBST-FM stations. He was also the board president of IPBS and CEO of Indiana Broadcasters Association. He was honored with the Indiana Broadcasters Association Lifetime Achievement Award in 2021.  

Roger Rhodes worked for 28 years in public media. He served as president and general manager of PBS Fort Wayne, as well as executive director of IPBS. He also helped WLPR-FM in Merrillville become an IPBS member station. 

The IPBS Hall of Fame Awards will be presented on Wednesday, August 2, 2023, in Carmel, Indiana, at the Renaissance Hotel and will coincide with the IPBS Annual Conference.

About WFYI Public Media
Since 1970, WFYI Public Media has served Central Indiana as a trusted friend. Its nonprofit public radio and TV stations, digital content and community engagement activities provide trusted journalism, inspiring stories and lifelong learning to Hoosiers of all ages and walks of life. WFYI broadcasts original content, as well as PBS and NPR programs, on three television channels, five radio services – including WBAA – and online. Metropolitan Indianapolis Public Media (MIPM) is the parent organization of WFYI Public Media. Learn more at wfyi.org and follow WFYI online on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

About IPBS
Established in 1975, IPBS is a not-for-profit association of 17 public television and radio stations.  Together, these stations provide engaging, educational, and informational programming for Indiana citizens.  Stations are located in Bloomington, Elkhart, Evansville, Fort Wayne, Indianapolis, Merrillville, Muncie, South Bend, Vincennes and West Lafayette. To learn more about Indiana Public Broadcasting, Inc., visit IPBS.org.